SPOTLIGHT: Bridget Collins

Please tell us a bit about yourself and your photography?

I am originally from Minneapolis, Minnesota and now live in Brooklyn, New York. I recently graduated from Pratt Institute where I received my BFA in Photography. I have always been interested in the idea of constructing memories, creating a document of my experience that is only slightly based in reality. I like how the process of photographing something puts you at a distance from it, reveals the strangeness of things you wouldn’t normally look twice at. My photos reflect a weird, half-imagined, half-real version of my life, sort of like a memoir.

Your series ‘Earth’ and ‘Olly Olly Oxen Free’ are playful and beautifully observant, tell us about them?

Both of these projects stemmed from an interest in finding simple answers to complex problems, specifically existential ones that aren’t physically tangible. I developed an interest in guides, things like maps and self-help books, which organize and explain overwhelmingly complex systems. These systems, that shift and change but are regarded as constant, create a sort of Doppler effect of looking at the world; meaning becomes distorted relative to time.

I became interested in the physicality of the guides, of photographs, and the dynamic between still objects and living things. I want to understand how things can be both slow and fast, constant yet always changing. In my photographs I hope to create a new dialog between commonplace objects and events, as if to document what happens when you’ve spent too much time alone in your room and your belongings start to talk to you.



Are you working on any projects at the moment?

I have a few editorial projects I’ve been working on, but those are secret until published. I’ve also been traveling for a little bit and taking photos of plants in hotels. I visited a hotel that has 19 floors and on every floor they have a single, different potted plant outside of the elevator. I photographed them all and am thinking of compiling them into a book, potentially a very boring one.

What is your biggest photographic aspiration/goal?

My experience with exhibiting photographs is rather limited, so I would love to put on more shows and explore new ways of exhibiting photography.

I have a folder on my computer that has all my “bad”
photographs on it; outtakes, missteps, and things deemed unworthy for following through on. This folder has thousands of images in it. I would love to compile these into a really nicely printed book, then seal it shut so no one can ever open it.

More of Bridget Collins’ work can be found here.

Join the discussion...

