SPOTLIGHT: Rebecca Foster

Tell us a little about yourself Rebecca?

I am a fine artist with an MA in Drawing from Wimbledon School of Art.

My current artistic practice involves the appropriation of pre-existing and original images, transforming them into a new whole. I work in drawing, painting, photography and film and these media often overlap in my work. I am interested in the beauty of the everyday, unexpected juxtapositions of images and repetition of form.

Alongside working as an artist my background is in producing, art directing, graphic design and prop making on a number of feature films, commercials and TV productions for the BBC, Channel 4 and independent film companies.

I studied at Central St Martins and Wimbledon School of art and my work has been exhibited internationally. I was BAFTA nominated for my work on the Children’s BBC art show ‘SMart’ and received full funding for my MA from the Arts and Humanities Research Council.

What inspires your work?

My work is inspired by the sheer amount of images and messages we are bombarded with everyday. I like seeing connections between images I find and working out ways of making these images relate to each other. I am inspired by everything I see and hear!! I truly believe everything I experience goes into my art.

You juxtapose contrasting images on one canvas in your series of oil paintings, what is the idea behind this?

Initially I began the process of juxtaposing images when I started working with mirrors. I created an installation inspired by a Rilke Poem – You Who Never Arrived, when I documented this work I began taking photos through the mirrors. I liked these results and experimented more with mirrors: juxtaposing 2 views within the same image (Urban Beauty Spots – Red) . This then developed into combining found objects and images which I then painted.


Are you working on any projects at the moment?

At the moment I am working on a series of work I’m making with my scanner which I will later paint.

What does the future have in store for you?

I am working hard at trying to get my work into gallery exhibitions and taking on portrait commissions as this is something I really love to do!

More of Rebecca’s work can be found here

2 responses to “SPOTLIGHT: Rebecca Foster

  1. Cecelia Grant-Peters

    Amazing imagery…so clever!

  2. She has very intriguing work.

Join the discussion...

