INTERVIEW: Geoff Titley

‘Gayzed’ by the Gay Photographer’s Network is well underway, and today we bring you our interview with photographer Geoff Titley.

Geoff Titley

Geoff Titley

When did you become a member of the GPN and what drew you to the organisation?

It was early 2010. I had just returned from my first visit to South America and my interest in photography had been well and truly re-kindled after spending time in the breath-taking Andes. I looked around for a relaxed group to help me develop as a photographer. The GPN was the one I chose. It had a mix of experts and learners coming together in a social way.

Are there any particular subjects you are interested in and how do you explore them in your work?

The role of technology often informs my photographic practice, as it has the ability to change our social behavior. Echoing cultural theorist, Marshall McLuhan, my work discusses how technological advancements have impacted both cultural identity and the role  of photography in 2013. Working digitally allows myself to engage with new medias such as the Internet – in which the “network” becomes the artwork.

Geoff Titley

Geoff Titley

Where does your inspiration derive from? Are there any photographers or artists that have particularly influenced your work?

Artists such as Thomson and Craighead, Theo Watson, Aram Bartholl and Owen Kydd similarly explore the theme of technology. However, I am equally inspired by the “staged construction” genre within photography such as Jeff Wall, Tom Hunter and Philip-Lorca diCorcia.

Are there any specific techniques you use when photographing? How would you describe your personal style?

Each part of the process interests me – hunting for locations, finding actors and working on the edit.  I’ll often focus on the composition of an image in order to heighten the performativity surrounding the “staged construction.”

Have you got any future projects planned?

I intend to expand my series For the Moment by pushing it further into new directions that challenge the relationship between photography and multi-media.

Geoff Titley

Geoff Titley

Geoff’s work can be seen as part of ‘Gayzed’ here at The Strand Gallery until October 20th.

Further examples of Geoff’s work can be seen here.

Join the discussion...

