INTERVIEW: Leigh Carter

We have been interviewing artists form our current exhibition, ‘Gayzed’, and have been inspired by their intriguing photographs. Today we are speaking with Leigh Carter, a talented photographer who works with the male form in a very fresh and interesting way.

James

James by Leigh Carter © Leigh Carter

Hello Leigh! When did you become a member of the GPN and what drew you to the organisation?

I was first introduced by another member of the organisation and I have been a full time member for three years now. It seemed a perfect place to meet like-minded photographers and somewhere that I could finally show my work and receive feedback as well as share ideas.

Are there any particular subjects you are interested in and
how do you explore them in your work?

I mainly shoot the male form but I constantly try to work with different genres such as macro and landscapes. Abstracts are starting to dominate my portfolio just lately, concentrating on colour and textures.

Triangles

Triangles by Leigh Carter © Leigh Carter

Where does your inspiration derive from? Are there any
photographers or artists that have particularly influenced your work?

I find myself inspired by many artists that also work with the male form but the two that stand out for me are Greg Gorman, for keeping things simple and beautiful and Robert Mapplethorpe for his rawness. I also often jot ideas down while watching TV and film if something interesting catches my eye.

Are there any specific techniques you use when photographing?

If not trying too hard and letting my eye find the image naturally is a
technique, then I guess that would be it!

Have you got any future projects planned?

I’m working on my first male form book right now, it’s been three years in
the making so far. I’m just worried that the perfectionist in me will never
see it complete!

Fallen

Fallen by Leigh Carter © Leigh Carter

Leigh Carter’s photographs can be seen as part of our current exhibition ‘Gayzed’, here at the Strand Gallery until the 20th of October.

For more information on this artist you can visit his website here.

Join the discussion...

