INTERVIEW: Manel Ortega

As the ‘Gayzed’ exhibition prepares to close the doors to the public, we are looking at one 0f the featuring photographers, Manel Ortega. We had a chat with him about his inspirations and work, have a look!

marta

Manel Ortega

Hello Manel! When did you become a member of the GPN and what drew you to the organisation?

I joined the Network two years ago when I was introduced to the group by a friend whose images were featuring in the GPN Annual Exhibition – at The Strand Gallery.

el equilibrista

Manel Ortega

Are there any particular subjects you are interested in and how do you explore them in your work?

I am interested in capturing raw emotion and true spirit and exploring these through all my portraiture.

Where does your inspiration derive from? Are there any photographers or artists that have particularly influenced your work?

I have a huge collection of art and photography – mainly accumulated when I lived and worked in Barcelona. There are many inspirational artists that have influenced my work but some of the key figures are Bruce Webber, Irving Penn and Cecil Beaton.

Sebastien

Manel Ortega

Are there any specific techniques you use when photographing?

I love using natural light in both my digital and analogue work enhancing my personal style. My personal style is classical and the specific technique I use is patience.

Tuesday

Manel Ortega

Have you got any future projects planned?

I have a number of projects in the pipeline. I am continuing the Black Portrait Series – one of which is included in the GPN Exhibition. I am also exploring a project to reflect the male form in classical poses and a book of my portraits.

Manel Ortega’s photographs can be seen as part of ‘Gayzed’ until the 20th of October.

If you are interested in Manel’s work visit his website here.

All images © Manel Ortega

Join the discussion...

