INTERVIEW: Simon Hadleigh-Sparks

In today’s Artist Interview, we talk to surrealist architectural photographer, and London Independent Photography member, Simon Hadleigh-Sparks and explore his experimental works.

When did you first come across London Independent Photography and what drew you to the organisation?

 I have only been into photography as an amateur for a few years and this was a means to get work shown by entering a competition not really expecting to actually get chosen for the exhibition. But since I have found it a good source of inspiration by seeing what others do.

The Face Of The City 'Android'- London. Simon Hadleigh-Sparks

The Face Of The City ‘Android’- London
© Simon Hadleigh-Sparks

Reflecting on your journey as a photographer, how did your interest develop?

 I am an amateur that has been taken over by the love of photography. It has taken over my life, well most of it, apart from work, wife and daughter, oh as well as TV and internet. Photography has become a major part of myself. Basically my photography life is played out of flickr and that is where I live – people seem to like some of what I do, the constant positive comments, so this is a major incentive to continue and develop.

 Who inspires you artistically?

 I am completely self taught and constantly learning. For a major part of my style I am inspired by the ‘New London’ that I see constantly growing around me. Also my piers on flickr are always an inspiration. Some of my abstract images develop as I work on them in post but most ideas grow from experimentation and what I see while walking about the city. But as most things it started when making a mistake and seeing what I could do with a mediocre image.

The Face Of The City 'Organic'- London. Simon Hadleigh-Sparks

The Face Of The City ‘Organic’- London.
© Simon Hadleigh-Sparks

What themes and concepts do you like to explore and how is your work distinctive? Do you have any favourite locations or techniques?

I have been told many times that I am eclectic with many styles but the work shown at this exhibition is a small part of a series I developed called ‘The Face Of The City – London’, where I take an image of a building, always modern, and distort it into a striking image that makes people think. Good or bad, I always feel that if someone just looks for a few moments it has done it’s job.

I love creating abstract images from the reality around my city. I try and tamper as little as possible and with some minimal post work I attempt to create something visually stimulating. Some of my other images also have a 3D feel or some have said they are like visual illusions.

My work has become fairly distinctive but maybe I am lucky just to have found a niche of Architecture & Abstract that are not mainstream photography.

The Face Of The City 'Origins'- London. Simon Hadleigh-Sparks

The Face Of The City ‘Origins’- London.
© Simon Hadleigh-Sparks

Do you have any future projects planned?

I will continue to do what people like and every so often throw in a new idea. It’s my ambition to get better all the time and prove myself as a ‘not bad’ photographer with a ‘not ordinary’ style.

All images © Simon Hadleigh-Sparks.

Simon is one of the artist featuring in the 25th Annual Exhibition by the London Independent Photography, which will be on display until the 3rd of November.

If you are interested in Simon’s work, visit his flickr website here.

Join the discussion...

