INTERVIEW: Sarah Peters

Focusing on Sarah Peters, a featuring artist for the LIP 25th Annual Exhibition, we found out a little bit about her photographic themes and future plans…

When did you first come across London Independent Photography and what drew you to the organisation?

I first came across the organisation three years ago when I went to London Independent Photography’s Annual Exhibition – I thought that joining the group would encourage and inspire me to explore photography further.

Reflecting on your journey as a photographer, how did your interest develop?

My dad gave me his old analogue camera when I was about ten – I was instantly hooked and would bore everyone I knew with pack after pack of holiday snaps.  I only started taking photography seriously a few years ago when I got a full-frame DSLR and undertook a few short courses in photography. Now I’m studying for an MA in Photographic Studies, trying my hand at video and revisiting analogue photography.

Who inspires you artistically?

Stephen Shore, Tony Ray-Jones, Sophie Calle, among many. An eclectic mix!

What themes and concepts do you like to explore and how is your work distinctive? Do you have any favourite locations or techniques?

I like to explore the relationship between text and image, the frailty and fickleness of memory, and the notion of ‘photographic truth’. I’m also interested in psycho-geography – I particularly enjoy photographing urban landscapes.

 Do you have any future projects planned?

I’m planning a photo book combining text and images, which will ‘document’ and represent memories and feelings provoked by a huge loss in my life. I’m also looking forward to experimenting with my new pinhole camera.

Sarah’s work can be seen as part of the 25th Annual Exhibition by London Independent Photography until the 3rd of November.

For more information on Sarah visit her website here.

All Images are © Sarah Peters

Join the discussion...

