INTERVIEW: Martin Dixon

Next in our series of interviews is Martin Dixon, whose work is part of London Independent Photography’s 25th Annual Exhibition, here at The Strand Gallery.

martin_dixon_Untitled

Untitled © Martin Dixon

Hello Martin! When did you first come across London Independent Photography and what drew you to the organisation?

I first came across LIP in the spring of 2010 when I went along to a workshop run by Yoke Matze. She inspired us to persevere finding interesting photographs within our everyday lives.

Reflecting on your journey as a photographer, how did your interest develop?

In my late teens I began taking black and white photographs, walking in the city to find images and then disappearing into the magical world of the darkroom. More recently in 2010 I began studying BA Photography part time at Westminster University.

Who inspires you artistically?

I find that my inspiration comes from many people, writers as well as photographers and sometimes the two come together like with Moyra Davey, especially in her books. Stephen Gill’s working methods intrigue me and his books are also beautiful objects.

What themes and concepts do you like to explore and how is your work distinctive? Do you have any favourite locations or techniques?

For the last few years I’ve approached making work almost like a Zen practice, setting up structures and then working with them to see what might emerge; like taking the same photograph daily for a year or a month – 365 self portraits, 30 days of diptychs. Studying at Westminster has given me opportunities to experiment with a range of approaches and techniques and I’m still figuring what it is that might make my work distinctive – almost a question I’d want someone else to answer! I do like to make work wherever I happen to be with a camera – and if I do have a technique it’s often a matter of catching hold of an idea and then sticking with it doggedly until it runs its course.

Do you have any future projects planned?

Well finishing my BA in Photography is top of my list after which I’d like to spend time making new work. I’m interested to find ways of working collaboratively and I am open to include film, text and sound.

Martin’s work can be seen as part of London Independent Photography’s 25th Annual Exhibition until the 3rd of November.

To find out more about Martin, have a look at his website www.martindixon.org.uk/

One response to “INTERVIEW: Martin Dixon

  1. Kim Middleton-Davies

    Hi Martin and gallery…interesting read and photo….keep up the work
    kim(Davies )

Join the discussion...

